Stanford Surgeons Receive ACSCC Excellence in Research Awards

May 28, 2021

Two abstracts written by members of the Department of Surgery have been awarded a Scientific Forum Excellence in Research Award by the American College of Surgeons (ACS).

The abstract submitted by Dr. Ruth Tevlin, a resident in the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, was the highest-scored submission in the plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery category. The abstract is entitled "Denervation During Mandibular Distraction Osteogenesis Results in Impaired Osteogenesis."

"ENTRUST: A Serious Game-based Virtual Patient Platform To Assess Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) In Surgical Education," was selected in the Surgical Education category. The authors on the abstract from the Department of Surgery are Drs. Dana Lin, Amber Trickey, Hyrum Eddington, James Korndorffer, and Cara Liebert. They also collaborated with are Sylvia Bereknyei-Merrel (Department of Pediatrics, formerly S-SPIRE), Edward Melcer (UC-Santa Cruz) and Oleksandra Keehl (UC-Santa Cruz).

These abstracts will be highlighted at the annual Clinical Congress in October and featured in the supplemental Journal of the ACS.

Plastic Surgery Resident Dr. Ruth Tevlin

Drs. Dana Lin and Cara Liebert present ENTRUST at Department Grand Rounds.