AAST Inducts 12 New Members with Stanford Affiliations

September 24, 2019

The American Association for the Surgery of Trauma inducted 12 new members with Stanford Surgery affiliations this past weekend at their 78th Annual Meeting in Texas. The new members are Drs. Lisa Knowlton, Allyson Cooke (now UCSF), Joe Forrester, Alliya Qazi (now UC Irvine), Clem Marshall, Jeff Jopling, Josh Jaramillo, Graeme Rosenberg, Peter Cha, Kovi Bessoff, Charles Liu, and Charlotte Rajasingh.

"The associate member category is a new thing that the association started this year," said Dr. David Spain, director of Stanford's General Surgery Residency Program and current AAST President. "Associate members will serve on each of the AAST committees."

Spain said he was particularly happy to see so many members of the student group SWAT among the new members.

"Associate membership in the AAST will give each of them the opportunity to see what academic societies are like from the inside," said Spain. "I think this will push them to get involved at a national level and take leadership positions."