Surgical Educators Receive Teaching Awards

May 28, 2021

Several members of the Department were recognized at Stanford's annual teaching awards last evening.

General Surgery Residents Drs. Julia Chandler and Carlie Arbaugh were selected as two of the recipients of the 2020-21 Arnold P. Gold "Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award." The Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes outstanding humanistic teaching residents as identified by our clinical medical students based on their exceptional teaching skills and commitment to the compassionate treatment of patients and families, students, and colleagues.

"Working with medical students is one of my favorite parts of being a resident," said Dr. Arbaugh. "Dr. Julia Chandler has been one of my personal mentors since I was a first-year medical student. It's so important to give back and remind people that mentoring works."

Dr. Peter Johannet, a clinical associate professor in the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, received the Community Preceptor Award (Pre-clinical). This award recognizes exceptional contributions to pre-clinical teaching by a preceptor who is a teaching affiliate at a site outside of Stanford Hospitals and Clinic.

This was also the first year the Dr. Oscar Salvatierra Award for exceptional service to Stanford Medical Students and the School of Medicine was presented. Dr. Salvatierra was a surgeon in the Division of Abdominal Transplantation and renowned for his work drafting the National Organ Transplant Act of 1984. The inaugural "Oscars" went to Drs. Maurice Druzin, Jeffrey Dunn, Julieta Gabiola, Paula HIllard, Anson Lowe, Peter Pompei, and Donald Regula.

Dr. Carlie Arbaugh receives the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dr. Julia Chandler receives the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dr. Peter Johannet receives the Community Preceptor Award.