Drs. Hawn, Pugh Elected to NAM

October 20, 2021

Drs. Mary Hawn and Carla Pugh have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine with only 100 new members inducted each year. According to the press release, "New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health."

Mary T. Hawn, MD, MPH, Emile Holman Professor and chair of surgery, Stanford University. For being a leading surgeon, educator, and health services researcher whose innovative work has built valid measurements for quality care, improved care standards, and changed surgical care guidelines.
Carla M. Pugh, MD, PhD, FACS, professor of surgery and director, Technology Enabled Clinical Improvement (T.E.C.I.) Center, department of surgery, Stanford University. For pioneering sensor technology research that helped to define, characterize, and inspire new and innovative performance metrics and data analysis strategies for the emerging field of digital health care.












Maximilian Diehn, MD, PhD, an associate professor of radiation oncology, and Michelle Monje, MD, PhD, an associate professor of neurology and neurological sciences were also elected to NAM from Stanford this year. 

Dr. Mary Hawn

Dr. Carla Pugh